30 Young People inducted into St Kitts-Nevis Comprehensive Disaster Management Youth Ambassadors Group.

Executive-Members of CDM

(Winnfm) During a simple but impressive ceremony, thirty (30) young adults comprising of 12 males and 18 females from St. Kitts and Nevis, were inducted into the St. Kitts-Nevis Comprehensive Disaster Management Youth Ambassadors Group, Wednesday 8th November, 2017, 10:15 a.m. at the NEMA Headquarters, Lime Kiln, St. Kitts.  During remarks to launch the group, Mr. Osmond Petty, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of National Security, complimented the young people on their decision to work closely with the National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) and the Nevis Disaster Management Department (NDMD).  He also encouraged them to use the group to reach other young people, from becoming involved in illegal activities.  To signal the Induction and official Launch of SKN CDM Youth Ambassadors, Mr. Petty pinned a Button displaying the group’s name, Logo and Launch month, on the first member. The process continued with each member receiving a Button from a different individual, following which they recited the Creed.

During welcome remarks, National Disaster Coordinator, Mr. Carl Herbert, applauded the group on its formation and also brought greetings from Mr. Ronald Jackson, Executive Director at the CDEMA Coordination Unit, who fully endorsed the group and its accomplishments to date.  The group has elected an Executive, created its Logo, Creed and also its Motto, “Youth Making a Difference.”

The group was initiated after Mrs. Claricia Langley-Stevens, Deputy National Disaster Coordinator, returned from the 2015 Caribbean Disaster Emergency Management Agency (CDEMA) Comprehensive Disaster Management (CDM) Conference in the Bahamas, when the call was made for countries to directly engage the youth in Disaster Management.  Since then, the group has been meeting at the NEMA Headquarters, under her guidance.  Mrs. Langley-Stevens applauded the group and expressed complete satisfaction that to date, St. Kitts-Nevis is the first of and only one of the eighteen (18) CDEMA members states to launch such a group. She further indicted that an Advisory Council has been established comprising of Ms. Alicia Collins, Community Development Officer, Superintendent of Police, Lyndon David, Mr. Kurt Caines, Representative Department of Youth  and  Mr. Dillon Webbe, former SKN UNESCO Youth Representative and Liaison Officers, Mr. Rohan Isles, Junior Communications Officer (NDMD) and Ms. Bereece Williams, Districts Coordinator (NEMA) and Mr. Lejon James, Technician (NEMA) are in place to guide and assist the group going forward.

In completing the Overview of the group, President, Ms. Shajunee Gumbs expressed thanks to the NEMA and NDMD for the support and guidance provided, also to her fellow members including the Executive body, and indicated that the group will undertake its tasks seriously and with vigour. The group’s activities will be
undertaken on 4 pillars namely: Training, Education & Awareness, Community Resilience and Social Interaction.  The other Executive members are Ms. Tawanna Collins, Vice President, Ms. Densa Tota, Secretary, Ms. Nadia Francis, Assistant Secretary, Mr. Terrance Francis, Treasurer and Mr. Howard Liburd, Public Relations Officer.  Also participating in the event were Mr. Lejon James, Technician (NEMA), Mr. Howard Liburd, CDM Youth Ambassador, Cotton Thomas Comprehensive School Drummers, Anjolique Dance Company and Mia Romney, visually impaired Student, Cotton Thomas Comprehensive School. The ceremony was chaired by Mr. Rohan Isles, Junior Communications Officer (NDMD) and Ms. Tamara Smithen, CDM Youth Ambassador gave the Vote of Thanks.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here